Joey Carbery to start at out-half for first test

Joey Carbery will start at No 10 in the first test against the Wallabies on Saturday.

Joey Carbery will start at No 10 in the first test against the Wallabies on Saturday.

Grand slam stars Johnny Sexton and Tadhg Furlong have been named on the bench for the first test against Australia on Saturday.

Joe Schmidt has handed new Munster signing Joey Carbery his biggest opportunity to date, naming him as the starting No 10 in a new-look Irish team that does not include Dan Leavy, Devin Toner or Garry Ringrose.

In the absence through injury of Rory Best, Peter O’Mahony fills in as captain and is joined in the backrow by Jordi Murphy at openside and CJ Stander at No.8.  James Ryan and Iain Henderson fill the lock positions with Jack McGrath, Rob Herring and John Ryan making up the front row.

Rob Kearney is named at fullback and is joined in the outfield by Jacob Stockdale and Keith Earls.  Bundee Aki and Robbie Henshaw are reunited in midfield with Conor Murray at halfback.

The replacements named are Sean Cronin, Cian Healy, Tadhg Furlong, Quinn Roux, Jack Conan, Kieran Marmion, Johnny Sexton and Jordan Larmour.

RELAND squad for 1st Test v Australia – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

BACKS: 15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 83 caps, 14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 67 caps, 13. Robbie Henshaw(Buccaneers/Leinster) 33 caps, 12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 7 caps, 11. Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 9 caps, 10. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 10 caps, 9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 64 caps

FORWARDS: 1. Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 47 caps, 2. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 3 caps, 3. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 13 caps, 4. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 38 caps, 5. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 8 caps, 5. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 38 caps, 6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 47 caps capt, 7. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 20 caps, 8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 23 caps.

Replacements: 16. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 61 caps, 17. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 78 caps, 18. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 23 caps, 19. Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 5 caps, 20. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 7 caps, 21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 21 caps, 22. Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 73 caps, 23. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 3 caps.